Realtime Web StatisticsRealtime blog statistics
Explore more EXPLORE

Tata Steel Jamshedpur Run-a-thon 2018 captivates the city

Jamshedpur, November 18, 2018

Tata Steel today organised the Tata Steel Jamshedpur Run-a-thon 2018. More than  6400 participants registered and turned up for the run across the 3 categories of races, with runners representing more than 16 states across India. The event started from the Archery Ground, JRD Tata Sports Complex from 6:00 am onwards.

The 10-km and 7-km races were open to all (Indian Nationals only), while the 5-km run was for under-16 boys and girls. The 10-km race is the internationally approved distance for road races by International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF).

Dignitaries present at the event were Mr T V Narendran, CEO & MD Tata Steel,  DC East Singhbhum Mr. Ameet Kumar, SSP East Singhbhum Mr. Anup Birthare,  Vice President, Safety, Health and Sustainability Tata Steel Mr Sanjiv Paul, Mr Chanakya Chaudhary, Vice President, Corporate Services, Mr Suresh Dutt Tripathi, Vice President, Human Resources Management, Sudhanshu Pathak, VP Steel Manufacturing, Mr Avneesh Gupta, Vice President, Shared Services, C D Singh, Secretary Jharkhand Athletics Association, Mr. Neeraj Kant, Managing director ISWP, Mr Tarun Daga, MD, JUSCO, and other senior dignitaries of Tata Steel. Dr J J Irani, former MD, Tata Steel graced the occasion and congratulated the winners and participants of Run-a-thon 2018.

The winner of the 10-km (male) finished the race in 32 mins 04 secs whereas the winner of 10-km (female) finished the race in 37 mins 54 secs. The 7-km (male) winner finished the race in 22 mins 57 secs whereas the winner of 7-km (female) finished the race in 26 mins 48 secs. The 5 km (male) and 5-km (female) winners finished the race in 17 mins 11 secs and 20 mins 50 secs respectively.

City SP Prabhat Kumar took part in the run while Jamshedpur Football Club (JFC) members and fanfares also participated during the event.

Prize money under different category were as follows:

10 Km run


Serial Position Prize in Male Category Name
1 1st Rs 51000 Harmanjot Singh
2 2nd Rs 41000 Subhankar Ghosh
3 3rd Rs 31000 Adesh Adesh
4 4th Rs 21000 Pardeep
5 5th Rs 11000 Abdul Bari


Serial Position Prize in Female Category Name
1 1st Rs 51000 Puja Mondal
2 2nd Rs 41000 Sabita Pal
3 3rd Rs 31000 Laxmi Rani Munda
4 4th Rs 21000 Putul Hansda
5 5th Rs 11000 Sakro Beshra

7 Km Run for Men and Women


Serial  Position  Prize in Male Category  Name
1 1st Rs 25000 Shrvan Kumar
2 2nd Rs 20000 Yogendra Tiriya
3 3rd Rs 15000 Rahul Kumar Rajbhar
4 4th Rs 10000 Dulu Sarkar
5 5th Rs 7500 Jitender Pal Singh


Serial Position Prize in Female Category Name
1 1st Rs 25000 Vijay Laxmi
2 2nd Rs 20000 Samsad Ara Begum
3 3rd Rs 15000 Shanti Rai
4 4th Rs 10000 Pratima Tudu
5 5th Rs 7500 Basanti

5 Km run


Serial Position Prize in Male Category Name
1 1st Rs 10000 Seken Purty
2 2nd Rs 8000 Gopal Ram
3 3rd Rs 7000 Chiranjeet Purty
4 4th Rs 6000 Sunil Kumar
5 5th Rs 5000 Tribhuban Hembrom


Serial Position Prize in Female Category Name
1 1st Rs 10000 Itishree Mohanta
2 2nd Rs 8000 Shiwani Kumar
3 3rd Rs 7000 Mamta Kumari
4 4th Rs 6000 Priti Kumari
5 5th Rs 5000 Geeta Kumari