Realtime Web StatisticsRealtime blog statistics
Explore more EXPLORE

Economic Times Awards for Corporate Excellence

August 10, 2001

Tata Steel has been declared "The Company of the Year" by an eminent jury comprising of Shri S M Krishna, Chief Minister of Karnataka, Shri Arun Jaitley, Union Minister of Law, Justice and Company Affairs, Shri Deepak Parikh, Chairman, HDFC and also Chairman of the Jury, Shri N R Narayan Murthy, Chairman, Infosys, Shri Kumara Mangalam Birla, Chairman of the AB Group, Shri M S Banga, Chairman of Hindustan Lever and Shri Nanno Pamnani, CEO, Citibank (India), Shri Arun Arora, CEO, Economic Times and Jaideep Bose, Editor, Economic Times.

According to today’s Economic Times, the race for the Company of the Year was a close affair but the award finally came to TISCO for making a significant, dramatic turnaround in the last year in the face of enormous odds, painlessly reducing its workforce and becoming highly cost efficient.

The awards will be given away at an exclusive ceremony by the Union Finance Minister in Mumbai on August 10, 2001, at a high profile function to be attended by the corporate glitter.